The Trinity County Historical Society is home of a unique working historic sawmill, actually used on the museum grounds. Operated for visitors on most holidays, it produces lumber used in exhibits and maintenance within the Jake Jackson Museum and Hal Goodyear Historic Park complex. The portable sawmill - whose parts weigh just over one ton - is an American No. 1 model manufactured by the American Sawmill Machinery Company in Boston, Massachusetts, and Somersworth, New Hampshire, around 1910, and was purchased by miners along the New River above Denny about 1914. It was brought in on mule back by rugged trail to a spot on the East Fork of New River and used to make lumber for a flume.